Nunavut Arctic College

Switch to desktop

2016/17 Inuinnaqtun Language Revitalization

 

About the Program

Aboriginal Language Revitalization supports community initiatives by strengthening one’s understanding of the complex context and characteristics of language loss, maintenance and recovery, and by developing knowledge of strategies and successes in language revitalization in communities. The program honours traditional knowledge and practices to reach a diverse group of learners.

Length of Program

9 courses; part time

Location

Kitikmeot Campus

Admission Requirements

Applicants wishing to apply to this program are individuals with an interest in learning language activism, language learning, and community language programming in Inuinnaqtun.

Application Deadlines

Applications must be submitted to the Registrar's Office by June 12, 2016.

Do you need financial assistance? You may be eligible for the Financial Assistance for Nunavut Students (FANS) and Adult Learning and Training Support (ALTS) programs. The deadline for FANS and ALTS applications is July 15.

For more information on how to apply, visit your local campus or Community Learning Centre. You can also e-mail the Registrar's Office at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or phone toll-free: at 1-866-979-7222.

Record of Achievement

Inuinnaqtun Language Revitalization Certificate

Credit Transfer Opportunities

Opportunities for laddering the course work into other post-secondary programs are encouraged with University of Victoria.

Employment Opportunities

Graduates may be formally appointed into teaching, advisory, mentoring, or assistant roles, in addition to other teaching and administrative positions. Professional development opportunities are encouraged to help build capacity within the community for language revitalization activities.

Course Outline

Click here to download course outline for this program (PDF).

Copyright 2008-2016 Nunavut Arctic College. All rights reserved.
For more information on our programs and courses, contact the Registrar's Office at 1-866-979-7222

Top Desktop version

Nunavut Arctic College

Switch to desktop

2016/17 Revitalisation De La Langue Inuinnaqtun

À propos du programme

Le programme de revitalisation des langues autochtones appuie les projets communautaires en enrichissant la compréhension du contexte complexe et des caractéristiques ayant une incidence sur la perte, l’entretien et le rétablissement de l’usage des langues, et en enrichissant la connaissance des stratégies et des réussites en matière de revitalisation des langues dans les communautés. Le programme valorise les connaissances et pratiques traditionnelles pour rejoindre un groupe diversifié d’apprenants.

Durée du programme

9 cours ; temps partiel

Endroit

Campus Kitikmeot

Conditions d’admission

Les candidats qui souhaitent s’inscrire à ce programme manifestent un intérêt à l’égard de l’activisme portant sur la langue, de l’apprentissage d’une langue, et de l’établissement de programmes communautaires en langue inuinnaqtun.

Date limite d’inscription

Les demandes doivent être remises au bureau du Registraire avant le 12 juin 2016.

Avez-vous besoin d’aide financière ? Vous pourriez être admissible au programme de Soutien à l'apprentissage et à la formation des adultes (SAFA) . La date limite pour demander le SAFA est le 15 juillet. .

Pour plus d’information sur la façon de faire une demande d’admission, visitez votre campus ou Centre d’apprentissage communautaire local. Vous pouvez également envoyer un courriel au bureau du Registraire au Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser. ou appeler sans frais au : 1-866-979-7222.

Attestations

Certificat en Revitalisation de la langue inuinnaqtun

Possibilités de transfert de crédits

L’Université de Victoria préconise la possibilité d’échelonner le travail accompli dans le cadre du cours dans d’autres programmes postsecondaires.

Occasions d’emploi

Les diplômés peuvent être formellement nommés dans des postes d’enseignement, de spécialistes-conseils, de mentorat ou d’adjoints, ainsi que dans d’autres postes en éducation et en administration. Les occasions de perfectionnement professionnel sont valorisées pour contribuer à doter la collectivité de ressources en activités de revitalisation de la langue.

Survol du programme

Cliquez ici pour télécharger l’aperçu des cours de ce programme (PDF).

Plus dans cette catégorie : « 2016/17 Traducteur Interprète

Copyright 2008-2016 Nunavut Arctic College. All rights reserved.
For more information on our programs and courses, contact the Registrar's Office at 1-866-979-7222

Top Desktop version